• NomadicWanderer
    September 18, 2017 at 10:20 am #33904

You guys are the first people I’m sharing (some of) this with. I am not sure what to do. I will start by saying that I think I need to talk to a therapist. However, I live overseas, in a non-English speaking country. So, I don’t think that’s an option right now.

I’ve had some bad experiences with men while living here. When I’m alone with men I don’t know well, I tend to get panicky. What’s happened to me isn’t anything super serious like rape. But, one night about five years ago, I was out walking home late. A group of men wouldn’t let me walk past them, and they put their hands on me. After about thirty seconds (I don’t remember how long it was), they let me go. But I think that moment has affected me.

Then there was the incident that happened about 9 years ago. I had a guy come and drop off a propane tank (it’s how I got gas to run my stove). Before he left, right after I paid him, he leaned down and kissed me on the cheek. I never thought this had a lasting impact on me – until today.

Today I rode home with a new driver. After all the students had been dropped off, and it was only me and the driver, I got super anxious (like I usually do when I’m in a taxi or driving with a male I don’t know). I had to stop my lesson planning that I was doing up until that point, because I was so anxious. I just sat there, so on edge. Thoughts went through my mind. As I sat there, anxious to get home, a thought occurred to me. I thought back to the time the propane guy kissed me. I realized that that situation is possibly why I get so anxious when I’m alone in cars with men I don’t know well. I realized that the same vulnerability I felt when I was all alone in my apartment with a man I didn’t know, I feel when I’m in a car with a man I don’t know well. I just made this connection today.